Lumpia Shanghai

I recently used up my existing stock of frozen Lumpia Shanghai so it was time to roll-up the sleeves and make a new batch.  I think this recipe is easy to follow but the preparation and rolling of the lumpia is very time consuming and takes practice.  I spent over 2 hours total preparing and rolling.  At least this was in front of the TV watching the Real Housewives of New Jersey.

Lumpia Shanghai is not your typical eggroll.  These Filipino eggrolls are more bite-sized and thinner and do not require pre-cooking of the filling.  It is almost like having meatball filling encased in an eggroll wrapper.  The recipe below my mom’s recipe.

Ingredients:  This will make approx 120 lumpias.

  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 large carrot (or 2 small)  – grated
  • 1 onion – finely chopped
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • oyster sauce
  • soy sauce
  • Santa Maria style seasoning
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 packages of Menlo lumpia wrappers

Mix all of the above ingredients together (except wrappers of course) in a large bowl.  There are a few time consuming steps…  First you have to grate the carrots and chop the onions which can take longer than expected.  Individually separating the wrappers also takes some time.  I do all the separating before filling the wrappers, and I also cut them in half so that I work with triangles.  Once all the ingredients are mixed and my wrappers are ready I will begin filling the wrappers with the mixture.  I fill them up with meat about the thickness of my pinky finger.  Roll them up, seal with water, and then fry.  Fry time is approx 10-12 minutes.

I did not take any pictures along the way as my hands were in the mixture the whole time.  But here is the end result of my batch.

So now my freezer is all stocked-up with plenty of Lumpia Shanghai!

~ by jedimasterglo on June 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
